When can I use paid family and medical leave?
Starting in 2026, you can use paid family and medical leave to:
- Care for yourself or a family member with a serious health condition
- Welcome a child
- Prepare for a family member's deployment
Will I be eligible for benefits?
Anyone who works at least 680 hours in a position based in Maryland in the 12 months before they need to take leave will be eligible to receive paid leave when benefits begin in 2026.
Does it matter if I live out of state?
No. If you work in a position based in Maryland for at least 680 hours in the 12 months before you need to take leave, you will be eligible to receive paid leave when benefits begin in 2026.
What if I live in Maryland but work in a different state?
If you live in Maryland but do not work in Maryland, you are likely not eligible for benefits. More details about this are forthcoming.
What if I change jobs? What if I have two jobs?
The leave is not based on your employer. It only matters that you worked at least 680 hours in Maryland in a 12-month period before the leave will start.
How is paid family and medical leave insurance different from existing benefits?
Paid family and medical leave insurance will provide up to $1000 per week while you take time away. The exact amount you will get from the program depends on how much money you earn each week. Workers who make less money will get a higher percentage of what they earn.
The law also provides job protections so you can have confidence that you will be able to return to your job after your leave.
How much can I expect to be paid while I'm out on leave?
The exact amount will depend on your wages in the time leading up to your leave. Workers will receive up to 90% of their wages up to the maximum of $1000 per week.
How much will this cost for me?
When plans become available, your employer will make a selection. The exact plan will determine how much you will pay. The maximum you could pay is 0.45% of your wages up to the Social Security tax cap. For example, if you make $50,000 per year, you may pay less than $4.50 per week.
If we have paid sick days, why do we need paid family and medical leave insurance?
It isn’t a perfect comparison but one way to think about it is that paid sick days are for everyday colds while paid family and medical leave is for battling a serious illness.
What is the timeline?
The Department of Labor is currently working with the Maryland General Assembly to shift the timeline. Pending approval from the Maryland General Assembly, here are the proposed dates:
- July 1, 2025 (proposed date): Contributions to the State Plan begin.
- July 1, 2026 (proposed date): Benefits become available.
Why do contributions to the State Plan start before benefits become available?
Contributions will establish the fund that will eventually pay out benefits to Maryland workers.
How can I prepare now?
- Sign up to receive emails from the FAMLI team
- Be on the lookout for more information from your employer about whether they will enroll in the State Plan or seek approval for a private plan.
- Begin including FAMLI contributions in future budget planning
I still have questions. When will more details be available?
Draft regulations are now available. These are for discussion purposes only and are not officially adopted or proposed regulations.
The FAMLI Division expects that the Maryland General Assembly will make changes to the FAMLI law during the 2024 legislative session. The FAMLI Division will announce when it intends to submit regulations to the Maryland register. At that point, the formal review process will begin, including a public comment period. In the meantime, you are encouraged to send comments about the draft regulations to FAMLI.firstname.lastname@example.org.